Kitchen transformation – The Plan

WARNING:  Gorgeous pictures alert!  Read at your own risk as some of these photos might make you take a sledgehammer to your kitchen cabinets.  Warned ya!
When you’re planning a kitchen renovation on your own, the first thing you need to do is to take a deep breath.  Seriously.  Because from that moment on, you will be in for a bumpy ride!  There are certain things you can do though to spare yourself from a complete meltdown and a potential divorce.  Budget is number one.  Decide on it and then stick to it. Easier said than done, I know, but many relationships have gone down the kitchen drain over the reno budget. So just stick to it.

Beyond the budget, decide early on who makes the final design decisions.  You? Spouse? Both? If all decisions are supposed to be made jointly, I can give you the name of a good divorce lawyer.  Ok, ok, some couples can handle it, I know.  But it’s not easy.  Make sure you have the same vision.  In my experience, that never happens, well almost never, my brother and sister-in-law being the exception perhaps. I think Chaughan’s vision would have started and ended with a trip to Ikea’s as-is section.  Not that I’m passing judgment on such a frugal way of doing things…  Perfect for an itty bitty room, or for a single piece of furniture. But an entire kitchen?  Not gonna happen on my watch.

So, it was a no-brainer:  I would be the final design decision maker!  Yeah! Chaughan just asked that I stick to the budget, and not go crazy with the colours (sure honey, you don’t mind a blue ceiling though, do you?).
Next thing is to find your vision!  Finding inspiration for a kitchen reno is a cinch.  There are gazillions of gorgeous pictures floating all over the web, some with detailed descriptions on how to achieve high end looking kitchens with minimal funds.  Problem is, with all of these amazing photos and ideas, it can become crazy confusing.  Just when you think you know the direction you want to go in, you come across a completely different look that you now MUST HAVE.  Here’s what you do:  type “Kitchen pictures” in Google and start collecting pics of kitchens that make you go “Ahhhhh”…. Once you’ve got 20 or so, take a good long look at them and find the common denominators.   Mine were:
  • all white kitchens that featured pops of colour (blue of course! or maybe yellow! orange is nice too!)
  • a vintage look (think 50s Pyrex) with a twist of modern (stainless steel of course!)
  • bright, airy and open concept
  • kid friendly
  • serious entertainment possibilities

With that I mind, you then start googling more strategically:  blue kitchen; all white kitchen; open concept kitchen; blue and white open concept kitchen.  You get the idea.

I amassed a series of to-die-for photos, basically inspirational eye-candy to help me with the “vision”.  Here are a few of them:

I just love the globe light fixtures, the white cabinets, and that amazing backsplash.

2010_10_3_shelby_kitchen_-13_rect640

Look at this amazing blue concrete floor (little spoiler –  my finished kitchen has both concrete and blue, but no blue concrete).

This kitchen had me salivating all over that marble backsplash.

Pinned Image

So clean, airy and bright!

glossy white kitchen design

Look at these backsplashes…

Look at that work space and room for the kiddos doing homework, eating, hanging out.
I quickly realized that my heart beat super fast at the sight of a few specific elements:
  • white glossy cabinets
  • marble
  • show stopping backsplash
  • loads of counter space, including an overhang for stools
  • blue blue and more blue
  • vintage meet industrial meet modern feel
And then I found this (Halleluiah! Halleluiah!)
This, my friends, was my vision! Vintage blue, amazing backsplash, sleek white cabinets, marble, modern and fresh… it had it all!  And it was going to be MY kitchen!

Join me for the next installment of Kitchen Transformation:  Let the Shopping begin!

But before I go, I leave you with a few other pictures that inspired me.  Hopefully, they will do the same for you! (I tried to provide a link to most of these images but came up short on a few of them.  if you know the link, let me know and I will gladly add it!)

Feel free to comment and let me know if you’re also going through a kitchen renovation, or recently did.  We can celebrate!  Or commiserate?

Leave a Reply

