A little quilt for baby Sandrine

My sewing room has churned out a second little quilt, this one to celebrate the arrival of my sweet niece Sandrine.

I loved the little birdie fabric the second I spotted it.  It’s called Lovely Birdie from Jo-Ann Fabrics.  I generally struggle with putting fabric together for any sewing project.  But this one was surprisingly easy!  The quilt is approximately 42 by 55 inches, so just right for a sweet little babe.

This strippy quilt is so cheerful and dainty, just like little Sandrine herself.

I am just crazy in love with quilt making.  I could seriously do this all day long!  Of course, there’s the little problem of my full time job… how many quilts to you think I’d have do make in order to justify a career change?  I know, I know… best to just keep this as a happy little hobby!

Linked to these awesome parties:

Sew ChattyThe DIY'ers

36 thoughts on “A little quilt for baby Sandrine

    1. Excuse me Boo, but I’ve seen the amazing clothing items that have come out of your very own sewing room. You CLEARLY have the patience and there’s no lack of talent there. I would love to see you make a quilt… yours would be so graphic and modern… Hey, I have an idea! I should have you sketch a quilt that I could then make! That would be amazing!

  1. So adorable! Love your fabric choices!Thanks so much for sharing the great tutorial! Would love to have you visit me sometime. Have a fabulous week!Hugs from Portugal,Ana Love Craftwww.lovecraft2012.blogspot.com

  2. I’m so glag that I found your blog, I looooove your quilt!I found you throught the blog hop. I love to sew and my blog is about sewing projects and tutorials. This is the link to my blog;http://passionetcouture.blogspot.ca/I hope that you will visite me and if you like my creations, I invite you to follow me back.Nice to meet you!Marisa fromhttp://passionetcouture.blogspot.ca/

  3. This is so, so beautiful. The color combinations, prints…perfection. Quilting is at the top of my list of crafts to learn. Just lovely!

    1. Thank you Sarah! I just started making quilts this past September and I love it. I’m sure you will too. I’m sticking with strippy quilts for now, as they’re the easiest (no tricky pattern). I’m sure you’ll pick it up really quickly. Good luck and make sure to let me know how your first quilt turns out! 🙂

    1. I’ve only done two quilts so far (working on number three) and they both have stripped bindings! We’ll see what I end up with for the third but don’t be shocked if it’s stripes again, haha!

  4. Love everything about this quilt! Especially the bird fabrics and binding! PS- I started following as I can’t wait to see what you make next – so inspiring!

Leave a Reply

