Here comes the KITCHEN REVEAL!

This past Saturday afternoon, three things came together to create something of a small miracle:
1. the kitchen was fairly clean
2. my two youngest girls were both napping (at once!)
3. I had (surprisingly) remembered to recharge the battery in my camera
That meant that I was finally (FINALLY!!) able to take pictures of my recently renovated kitchen.  Now, remember what this kitchen looked like before:  it was awkward, closed-off from the rest of the house, and sported it’s own vineyard on the ceiling (oh, and let’s not forget that the floor was puke green – PUKE GREEN! Ugh!).
And now…
Taa-daa!!!!!  Friends, meet my new kitchen!
Kitchen renovation : natandgang.blogspot.com
A tad better, no?  Here’s a quick summary of the work done:
  • We gutted the old kitchen (cabinets, floor, ceiling)
  • We removed the wall between the kitchen and the family room and replaced it with a peninsula (the one with the Kitchenaid mixer sitting on it)
  • We closed off the entrance into the kitchen and transformed it into a walk-in pantry
  • We removed the island and replaced it with a second peninsula with sink and dishwasher
  • We re-tiled the floor
  • We painted the ceiling and installed potlights
  • We added tons of electrical outlets
  • We installed brand new appliances
  • We installed new light fixtures
  • We installed new cabinets
  • We added a new backsplash
  • We built and installed new concrete countertops
Phew.  That was so much work.  By “we”, of course I mean our amazing contractor Bruce Alyea who is not only incredibly talented at building and creating but also has an amazing design vision and an ability to come up with fresh takes on solving renovation dilemmas.  Oh, and to boot, he knows how to up the cool factor in any reno.  We didn’t need to look around much… Bruce was clearly our first pick!
Kitchen renovation : natandgang.blogspot.com
This below is the breakfast/lunch/dinner nook.This nook, my friends, has completely changed our lives.  In our former house, the only thing resembling a nook was the family room off the kitchen, complete with coffee table and large screen TV.  That meant that our meals were almost always consumed in front of the tube (which, mind you, I thought was pretty awesome at the time).  Otherwise, we would eat standing in the kitchen (which was not so awesome).

But with this nook, we eat every single meal together, as a family, at this table (notice that there is NO TV AROUND!).  And I am just loving it!  No more guilty feelings about family meals in front of the TV, haha! (Anyone else feel guilty about that??)

Plus quick access to the sink allows for instant kid-mess removal!

Kitchen renovation : natandgang.blogspot.com

Stay tuned for a follow-up post on how I DIYed this table and chairs.

Here’s a wee bit of art on the walls of the nook that I made using fabric and Ikea frames:

Kitchen renovation : natandgang.blogspot.com

This funky step stool was made by my uncle Paul who is an absolute wiz with his hands.  We’re finding that it’s also the perfect height for little Alix to stand at the counter and “help” the chef;  the raised back gives her something to hold on to in order to keep her balance when she gets a little too excited (yep, happens a lot!).

Ahhhhh…. vintage designed exposed socket pendant lights, hand made by the amazing Brad Michael.  He was such a joy to work with! The painted ceiling is Embellished Blue by Behr;  I just cannot get enough of that colour.
Kitchen renovation : natandgang.blogspot.com

The pièce de résistance, for moi, is the backsplash!  It’s a carrera marble hex tile.  It has a vintage feel, yet blends so well with the streamlined glossy Ikea cabinets and all the stainless steel of the appliances and sink.

Recognize the milk glass from my recent jaunt at an estate auction?

Kitchen renovation : natandgang.blogspot.com

See how the hex tiles sparkle when hit with light?  *Swoon*
Kitchen renovation : natandgang.blogspot.com
Are you wondering about those counters?  That’s concrete baby! One of our contractor’s brilliant ideas.  Bruce built them right in our backyard.  Took 6 strong burly guys (that includes me too – no weak women in this house!) to move the biggest of the pieces from the yard to kitchen.  Insanely heavy.  Only one strained back out of the whole deal – my poor hubby… he’s recovered now!
Kitchen renovation : natandgang.blogspot.com
But we are fully enjoying them.  I personally love the contrast between
  • the modern cabinets and stainless steel appliances
  • the vintage elements -hex tile, milk glass, Pyrex and exposed socket pendants lights
  • and the industrial feel of the counters.
Here’s some close-ups of the incredible details found in the concrete:
Kitchen renovation : natandgang.blogspot.com
Kitchen renovation : natandgang.blogspot.com

This is also your first look at my Pyrex collection.  Well, I have to admit that so far, my collection includes all of these three bowls.  But I am on the hunt for more!

And are you wondering what’s behind that door?  If you recall, this used to be the entrance into the kitchen.  We closed that off in order to create…

Kitchen renovation : natandgang.blogspot.com

a walk-in pantry!  Excuse the mess… but it realistically doesn’t get cleaner than this.  That’s why we put a door on it.

Kitchen renovation : natandgang.blogspot.com

I haven’t figured out what to do with this awkward space next to the microwave.  So for now, it’s a little hangout for my fav little bowls.

I’ll be quiet now and let you continue the tour by yourself.

Kitchen renovation : natandgang.blogspot.com
Kitchen renovation : natandgang.blogspot.com
Kitchen renovation : natandgang.blogspot.com
Kitchen renovation : natandgang.blogspot.com
Some of you might be curious as to the sources for all the elements found in the kitchen.  As this post is long enough, I’ll leave you here with the promise of an upcoming post where I will list the details of all the goods.

I hope you enjoyed the little kitchen tour.  Let me know what you think, ok?
Have a great weekend everyone!
XXX

43 thoughts on “Here comes the KITCHEN REVEAL!

  1. AHHHHH!!! this is not the kitchen i sold you! phew. WOW! I love the lights, the ceiling and the backsplash…fan fricking tastic NAT! this kitchen needed it sooooo badly, it was such a great house, with a lousy kitchen! Love how you opened up to the family room and can enjoy the fireplace…just love it! Really really!

    1. Lisa, how perfect that you are the first to comment on this post! Everyone, Lisa is the extraordinary (and incredibly patient) real estate agent who helped us buy this house! She is amazing guys!

  2. Absolutely gorgeous photos. Wow!! Great style. I found your blog via the Aloha Blog Hop and I’m loving all the great photography. Very talented.Stop by and see us sometime!Penny at Green Moms and Kidshttp://greenmomsandkids.wordpress.com

  3. Hi Natalie!Beautiful kitchen! I just wanted to stop by and say thanks so much for Linking up with us this week at the “Linkin with my ladies” hop. So glad you could be there!Hope you found some great reads and that you can join us Monday at 5 (Central) for the kick off to the new facebook hop!Thanks again!Katie~http://dysfunctionsjunction.com

  4. I am crazy about your kitchen! Can I come live in it? It’s light, beautiful, and impeccably decorated. I love it all. I’m so glad to see your cute little Pyrex gracing the counter. 🙂

    1. Sarah, always wonderful to hear from you. I shouldn’t have read your post about Pyrex as it has me completely obsessing about those little vintage kitchen bowls… haha! And yes, you are welcome over any time! 🙂

    1. Thank you so much Sharon. Your comments are greatly appreciated hon! And about those mixed chairs, I’ll get a little tutorial ready real soon and much sure to add it to your link party!

  5. Beautiful – and the coloured chairs at your table are just too gorgeous. I am moving soon (hopefully) and can’t wait to start doing up a new home.Found you via Linkin with Ladies and looking forward to following via Bloglovin.Kate xhttp://www.kateathome.com/

  6. Hi there! I have ventured over from Linkin’ with the Ladies hop. I’m enjoying this little peek into your world! Just lovely! I’m hosting a super duper group giveaway, on my blog. Don’t miss out! And if you’d like to be a co-host on my next giveaway, I would be honored!XOXO, Mandi @ All My Happy Endings

    1. Mandi, I just had a chance to return the sneak and I must say, I had a great time on your blog. I’m your newest follower! 🙂 And I would certainly love to co-host your next giveaway!!! Thanks so much!!!XXX

    1. Well hello and thank you for stopping by! Yes indeed, I do love my little kichen, I must say! 🙂 Lots of hard work but we get so much out of it. I am following you back Betty Boop! Natalie

  7. Wow Natalie! Your kitchen looks SO amazing. Be still my heart. That’s the one thing that hasn’t been renovated in my home and I can’t wait till ours looks as wonderful as yours. Great job!Cheers,Char

  8. Hi Nat ! I came to snoop at what you have been doing 🙂 I have to tell you I am absolutely amazed of your talent & taste. I have been going back & forth through your blog and I find it so interesting and fun ! I think I will also steal some of your ideas 🙂 Your kitchen should be running in the next ‘House & Home Magazine’ ! You should be proud, great job girl ! Now i’m off to see more of your innovations:)hugs, Nicole xx

    1. Ben un gros merci ma belle Nicole!!! So happy to know that you stopped by and that you liked what you saw! Stop by anytime! 🙂 Hope you, Brigitte and the little ones are all well!XXX

Leave a Reply

