DIY Patchwork Stools

www.natandgang.blogspot.com

I gave you a tour of my newly renovated kitchen last week, but I purposely omitted to take any pictures of the stools at the kitchen counter.  That’s because up to a few days ago, there were no stools at all! OMG!!! Ok, not a grave catastrophe on a world-wide scale, but still a bit of a bummer.

But this week, I am happy to report that there are now two happy little stools at our kitchen peninsula!  These are actually old stools that we inherited from our former downtown house, two kids ago.  The black leather seats had taken a beating over the years and had been stored in our basement for the last few months while I hunted thrift stores and auctions for cooler models.   To no avail.  So instead of splurging on new ones, I decided to give these guys a face lift.

Here’s what I did:

 

 

TIP:  Work slowly at stapling, to make sure not to create any folds at the front.

natandgang.blogspot.com
natandgang.blogspot.com

natandgang.blogspot.com 

That’s it! It literally took me just under an hour to do both of these seat covers.   They certainly add a nice pop of colour to the room.

And bonus, as soon as I’m bored with them, or if grubby kids hands dirty them up, I can just recover them with some new scrap fabric.  Let me know if you have any questions!  I’d be happy to explain in greater detail!

Have a good one!

Natalie

UPDATE:  Check this out…. who’s in spot #3?  How awesome is this!!!???

UPDATE #2:  I was featured again!!!  This time by Christine at D.I.Y. Dreamer.  Christine also added my little stools on her Pinterest Featured Board.  Freaking out here!!!

UPDATE #3:  Featured again!  Check it out: And Sew We Craft!

20130116-075428.jpg

UPDATE #4:  Wow, am I ever feeling the love!!!  Featured again at Gingerly Made: Show & Tell!!

Gingerly Made
UPDATE #5:  Ok, so it’s decided:  my new profession will be designing patchwork stools for the masses!!!  Ok, just kidding..  But I was featured at the Trendy Tree House!  Check it out!

UPDATE #6:  Another amazing feature, this time at Ninth Street Notions!  Thank you so much Amanda!

Ninth Street Notions

UPDATE #7: Lauren from If It’s Not Baroque just wrote to tell me that she is featuring my little stools…  Happy dance, happy dance!!!!   

 
UPDATE #8:  Shuuuut uuup!!!  Another feature!!!  Judy from Pursuit of Functional Home just wrote to let me know that I made her top 10!  

Top 10 Features of Pin It #3 Monday Hop

Update #9:  I am totally blushing… Sinea Pies from Ducks’n a Row wrote to let me know that my little patchwork stools were being featured here.  And here’s what she wrote on her blog about them:

Ducks 'n a Row

 

Do you see now why I am blushing?!  Pretty cool, no?  Grinning form ear to ear…

 

 

  UPDATE #10: Cathy from A Peek Into My Paradise has featured this little patchwork number on her blog.  Come and check it out here! A Peek Into My Paradise

83 thoughts on “DIY Patchwork Stools

  1. WOW! So in love with these stools. I had no idea you could unscrew the tops and it was so easy! And, I adore how you mixed up the colors and pattern – so chic! Thanks for sharing 🙂

    1. Hi Nikki, thanks so much for your sweet comments! Indeed, it was that easy… But I guess I lucked out in having found stools where the seats came off so easily! 🙂

  2. Hi Natalie, I love this stool! Thanks for sharing this! Popping over from the Linkin with my Ladies hop and looking forward to following you on Bloglovin! Have a wonderful Thursday. ~Cindy@littlemisscelebration.com

  3. They look fantastic! Such a great idea to personalize your home. Have you thought about covering with clear plastic to protect them? You could use the table protector plastic.

  4. Newest follower here! I found you through the blog hop. You have a super cute blog, I can’t wait to read more. You can find me at meandmr.com-Melanie @meandmr.com

  5. Ah WOW Nat!! C’est super!!! Tu vas m’en faire un?? :)Thanks so much for sharing this at The DIY Dreamer… From Dream To Reality! I’m looking forward to seeing what you link up tomorrow evening!

    1. Christine, un gros merci d’être venue faire un petit tour sur mon blogue. Et oui, j’ai bien hâte de me joindre à nouveau au party de demain soir!

  6. Hey! This is a really cute tutorial! I really love the fabric patterns you chose. The really cuaght my eye. The colors are wonderful.Thanks!Kristy @ 3peppers-recipes.com

    1. Hi Jean! Well, I am quite thrilled to find out that what Jean likes are my little patchwork stools, haha! Jean, you can’t fail with there. No matter how crazy crooked the sewing might be, they will look cute… that’s what a patchwork is all about. So I dare you, give it a try! 🙂

  7. I found you through Facebook Frenzy and had to click through to look at your blog. I LOVE your blog. This projects if fabulous. I pinned it to my DIY board on Pinterest. I’m also going to add you to my Bloglovin feed so I make sure I never miss a post. :)Did I see on your facebook page that you are Canadian too? I live in Vancouver. :)Best Wishes,Crystal

    1. Hi Amber! I’m so happy you like my little patchwork stools. And thanks for co-hosting the awesome link party… there were some gorgeous posts this week, no? I spent way too much time blog hopping… Haha!

    1. Hi Lauren, thank you so much for following me here and for the invite! I skipped on over right away and linked my little patchwork stools. Love you site… so inspirational!!!

  8. Thanks so much for sharing this at last week’s Say G’day Saturday linky party. I have just pinned this to my Say G’Day Saturday Board at Pinterest. I can see why this has been shared so much-it’s brilliant!Hope you can participate in this week’s party-it has just started.Best wishes,Natasha in Oz

  9. Love the colors! Thanks for sharing at I Made It! Monday. Can’t wait to see what you link up this week. Oh, and be sure and grab a featured button when you stop by.

    1. Judy, that is the coolest thing!!! I love the little collage that you did with all the features… of course, I copied it and pasted it in my post, hehehe!!!

    1. Hi Sinea! Count me in!!! Left you a comment as well on your linky post! It’s so nice to meet you (and I am now following you around everywhere… but not in a creepy way!!! More like in a Twitter, Pinterest, G+, FB, Bloglovin’ kind of way…)

Leave a Reply

