A little quilt for little Brendan

My sewing room churned out another little quilt recently… Our good friend Jahmiah gave birth to a beautiful baby boy a few weeks ago.   This is only my third quilt ever (see Alix’s quilt here, and Sandrine’s quilt there) and I have to admit, I was a bit nervous to make one for a little boy.  Was I going to be limited by colour choices?  (Keep in mind, I am the proud momma of 3 girls so I have never had to venture through the boys’ section to pick out clothes but from afar, I can tell that they are a little bit, hum, say limited in colours??)

Turns out that, to my complete surprise, picking out my fabrics was super easy !  I normally struggle for days if not weeks to put the right fabrics together… but these came together seamlessly (get it? get it? seamlessly??).

www.natandgang.blogspot.com

My main fabric and the beginning of this quilt adventure is an organic cotton called Monsterz Mash Orange designed by Michèle Brummer-Everett for Cloud9 Fabrics.  It is so sweet!  I found it on Etsy at Selvage 123.  Adorable, right?  It was easy to jump off from there and pick various colours from that fabric, like orange, yellow, grey and blue.

www.natandgang.blogspot.com
Here’s a good view of the quilt front.
www.natandgang.blogspot.com

For the back, I chose a grey dotted fabric, and inserted a few strips of patchwork to the bottom third of the quilt.  The quilting was done with straight lines, and the binding is a solid blue-turquoise organic cotton.  The quilt measures approximately 30 inches by 40 inches, so just perfect as a little floor mat or as a stroller blanket.

www.natandgang.blogspot.com

Welcome to this world sweet little Brendan…  We’re so happy to have you here!!!  I hope this little quilt brings you warmth and comfort.
www.natandgang.blogspot.com

Lots of love,

Natalie
XXX

UPDATE:  Brendan’s little quilt was featured by Christine at The DIY Dreamer!  Merci Christine!!!  Comme c’est excitant!!!

The DIY Dreamer

This little quilt was also featured on The Thriftiness Miss and Love and Laundry… yeah!

Diana at The Girl Creative also  featured my quilt… we are on a roll!

The Girl Creative

And finally, Lydia at Huckleberry Love picked Brendan’s little quilt as her fav project of the week!  Soooooo excited here!!!!

Wow, incredible!  This little quilt was one of the ton pins over at Big House Big Heart!  Thank you so much!!!

Pin It Tuesdays

Feeling the love over at Gingerly Made, where this little quilt was as a Show and Tell Feature!  Thank you Ginger!!!

 

Gingerly Made
56 thoughts on “A little quilt for little Brendan

  1. Gorgeous! As a Mother of two little boys, I would LOVE this as a gift. You did a wonderful job! :)We’d love for you to link up with us at Much Ado About Monday, if you get a chance. :)http://www.huckleberrylove.com/2013/04/much-ado-about-monday-no-5.html~Emilywww.huckleberrylove.com

    1. Hi Emily,Thank you so much for your kind words… you are so sweet! I missed your link party for this Monday but I will be there next week! 🙂 Thanks for the invite!

    1. Krista, thank you for your sweet comments! 🙂 I always find it quite difficult to get the colours/patters together so it helps when others validate my choices!

    1. Hi Lorraine,Oh, thank you so much!!!! I checked out your blog by the way and I can’t wait to try one of your recipes!!! P.S. Hats off to your for surviving growing up with 6 brothers!!!! :-)))

    1. Hi Amanda,Thanks so much for stopping by my little blog. I appreciate your sweet comments… indeed, it is only quilt #3 (which is why I am going for the simplest quilts possible… strip quilts!!! ) 🙂

  2. WOW NAT!! La courtepointe est parfaite! Les tissus sont tellement beaux, parfait pour un petit garçon! BRAVO!!Thanks sooo much for partying with me! Can’t wait to see what you link up at The DIY Dreamer… From Dream To Reality tomorrow evening!

  3. Really gorgeous quilt. I love this. So happy!! I want one for me…. 🙂 Thank you for linking it up at the Fine Craft Guild’s linky party. Hope to see you there again this Wednesday!! BTW we have a contest, that just opened yesterday, for a STUNNING necklace. Come check it out if you are interested, ~ Rose

    1. Rose, thank you so much!!! You raise a good point… I want one for me too. I have yet to make myself a quilt… maybe the next one could be mine??? 😉 Bah, it’s way more fun to give them to people, no? Hahaha!

  4. Hey there! I’m stopping’ by from the blog hop and wanted to let you know I liked your Facebook page! Hope you’ll get a chance to visit me! You can find me here:Blog urlhttp://www.croppedstories.blogspot.comFacebookhttps://www.facebook.com/pages/Cropped-Stories/615495055132216

  5. CONGRATS!!You have been featured at The DIY Dreamer… From Dream To Reality! Come on over and grab your featured button, you deserve it :)http://thediydreamer.com/from-dream-to-reality/features-63/Don’t forget to come over this evening to link up again 🙂

  6. Dear Nat,Brendan and I are so lucky to have been given this gift. It is absolutely beautiful (even more stunning in person than in the photos…if that is possible). You are so talented! It is a precious gift that we will treasure. Thank you so very much for putting such love, time and care into Brendan’s quilt. He is a lucky little man!Much love from us both!Jahmiah and Brendan

  7. So beautiful! Just love the colors! Please come by and share your wonderful posts on our link party Brag About It opens every Thursday. Would love to have you stop by! Thanks ~ Sharon and Denise @BeBeBetsyhttp://bebetsy.com

Leave a Reply

