DIY Poppy Teapot

natandgang.blogspot.com

Ahhhh… SPRING IS SO HERE!!!!  I am definitely in a floral type of mood. You might recall my last little thrift store expedition where I came back with lots of goodies, including this plain little Japanese teapot with a wicker handle.  Adorable as is, right?   But I had a vision for this little pot… and it involved poppies!

www.natandgang.blogspot.com

First, my disclaimer:  I cannot draw to save my life!  Amazing images pop into my head but for some odd reason, they translate into scribbles on paper.  Ugh! So I always need to find simple images that I can replicate.  Off to Pinterest I went! And taa-daa!!!  Here’s my inspiration for this project:

It’s a Poppy Sleepsack made by Pure Pixie on Etsy. So gorgeous, right? I am absolutely in love with everything in this store… And those poppies inspired me to no end!!!

Is used Marvy Uchida DecoColor Opaque Paint Markers that I found at Michael’s.  They come in a pack of 6 and are relatively inexpensive.  They are made to paint on glass, paper, wood, clay, porcelain, stone, metal and mirrors.  Super simple, super fast!  Their colours are bright, vibrant and glide on smoothly.  No, I do not work for Marvy… I just dig these markers ’tis all!

www.natandgang.blogspot.com

Here she is half way through the project…

And finally all decked out in pretty poppies! Simple and sweet.

www.natandgang.blogspot.com
www.natandgang.blogspot.com
www.natandgang.blogspot.com

Sooooooo happy that spring is here and that the snow has melted!  Have a great sunny week!

P.S. Sharing this post over here and, as well as at the Pinterest Challenge Spring Edition!

A zillion thanks to the amazing ladies who featured my painted little teapot on their blogs!!!

The DIY Dreamer
The DIY Dreamer
Pin It Tuesdays Featured
Powerful Mothering
Ninth Street Notions
Ninth Street Notions
Oh My!  Creative
JAQS Studio
White Lights on Wednesday
White Lights on Wednesday
The Life of Jennifer Dawn
A Crafty Soiree
Katie’s Nesting Spot
livelaughlinky 250x250
Live Laugh Rowe
Made in a Day
Made in a Day
Fine Craft Guild
artsy-fatsy mama
The Stitchin’ Mommy
Flamingo Toes
41 thoughts on “DIY Poppy Teapot

  1. I feel you, I can’t draw either!! Nor do my projects ever turn out like they look in my head.But this is great! So pretty and springy!Lucy @coffeewithus3.blogspot.com

  2. Hmmm…I thought you were going to say you bought it like that. AMAZING! And such a simple idea. Great job, I’m definitely pinning this. Found you over on If It’s Not Baroque. So glad you shared. Have a great day!Debbie

  3. We absolutely love this project! Thank you so much for sharing this link on our BRAG ABOUT IT Party at BeBetsy – our readers will love it too. Hope to see you again soon. Sharon and DenisePS. Terrific blog!

  4. Hi Natalie, this is so pretty. I came here from the Get Crafty blog hop. I like your blog a lot, you have some beautiful creations. I’m a new follower on GFC, looking forward to reading more. :)Jenniferhttp://thistlebearhome.blogspot.com

  5. So pretty! Just love the whimsical look. Thanks for sharing at I Made It! Monday. Be sure and grab a featured button when you link up this week.

  6. I so love your Tea Pot – thanks for linking up to Whimsy Wednesday! Your project has been featured this week!http://www.ohmy-creative.com/featured-projects/diy-favorite-five-feature-whimsey-wednesday/Also, you can add your project {or any project} to my website. I feature them on my main slider on the home page…follow this link to submit your project!http://www.ohmy-creative.com/submit-a-project/Be sure to stop by and grab a button…http://www.ohmy-creative.com/grab-a-button/

  7. Hi Natalie! Thank you for sharing at last week’s Get Crafty Friday link party. Your teapot has been featured at this week’s party! I hope you will stop by and grab a feature button =)-Amy @ The Stitchin’ Mommyhttp://www.thestitchinmommy.com/2013/05/get-crafty-friday-22.html

  8. Hi! I just fell in love with this and used your tutorial and design to dress up my plain white sugar bowl and creamer. May I blog about them if I link back to you up front and don’t use any of your personal photos? Please let me know . . . thank you from Katherine at Pillows A-La-Mode! 🙂

  9. This set is so cute! Pillows A La Mode suggested I take a look! I am inspired to do my own set now. I have a thing for poppies…and call my husband Poppy…had a blog named Mom ‘N Poppy’s but moved over to wordpress. Very cute indeed!

Leave a Reply

