A Jacket for Nate

I don’t get the chance to sew for boys very often… so when my friend Natasha invited us over for her little guy’s second birthday, I jumped at the chance to sew a sweet little jacket for Nate.
A quick Etsy search later and my pattern was found:  The Monster Hoodie by My Childhood Treasures.  Dixi has come up with some really sweet and vintage looking patterns.  And lucky for me, a few were specifically for boys.  Now this particular pattern was meant to have a lovely boy-pulling-a-monster applique… and I had every intention of of sewing it on.  But at the last minute, I changed my mind.  It might have had to do with an email exchange with Natasha earlier in the day, where I was telling her that I was sewing a little something something for Nate, and that I was steering away from anything too cute.  She responded by telling me that Nate had tons of clothes with trucks and such on them, so please go cute!  So cute I went!
A Jacket for Nate by Natalie at La gang à Nat - sewing for boys

For the fabric, I chose a navy blue corduroy for the outside, and a soft grey fleece for the liner.  Both fabrics were upcycled, the corduroy being a former duvet cover, and the fleece a little baby blanket.  I love giving cloth a second life!

The sleeves and the inside of the hood are the same striped jersey fabric that I had used for Alix’s dress a few months ago.  Some blue and orange pieces of felt were used for the hearts, and a little blue button was sewn on top of the flap (which actually closes with velcro – much easier for little Nate who is just learning to dress himself… and much faster for parents too!)

A Jacket for Nate by Natalie at La gang à Nat - sewing for boys

And here is sweet little Nate sporting his new jacket! Thanks Natasha for the amazing pictures… he looks darling!  And I’m so happy to see that the jacket fits just right!

 A Jacket for Nate by Natalie at La gang à Nat - sewing for boys

This kid is just soooooooo cute!!!! In French, we say “Il est croquable!”, which translates to “He is bite-able”….  I know, kind of a weird thing to say in English, but I think you get what I mean!

A Jacket for Nate by Natalie at La gang à Nat - sewing for boys
HAPPY 2ND BIRTHDAY NATE!
A Jacket for Nate by Natalie at La gang à Nat - sewing for boys

Nate’s little jacket has been featured on these amazing blogs:

Featured ButtonThe DIY Dreamer

Leave a Reply

