A Sundress for Alix: Japanese Sewing Pattern

Japanese Sewing Pattern from www.natandgang.blogspot.com

I’ve fallen in love with a little Japanese sewing book called Girls Style Book (love the simplicity… why mess around?)  Every single dress in there is sweet, simple, pretty and beautifully displayed.  Perhaps I’ll try to make all of them!

Japanese Sewing Pattern from www.natandgang.blogspot.com

Here’s what I chose as my first one.

Japanese Sewing Pattern from www.natandgang.blogspot.com

It’s called the Straight-line Sundress.  I’ve never incorporated lace into my sewing projects before and I really enjoyed it.  Hides a multitude of sewing sins!

Japanese Sewing Pattern from www.natandgang.blogspot.com

I’m so in love with the result!  So pretty, so summery… and bonus is that Alix loves it!

Japanese Sewing Pattern from www.natandgang.blogspot.com
Japanese Sewing Pattern from www.natandgang.blogspot.com

Now here’s where the story gets a bit wonky.  I failed to read the instructions in great detail and missed the fact that it called for cotton.  For some reason, I thought the fabric used in the picture was something silky or satiny.  And I happened to have a great silk emerald green fabric that I was dying to use for something special.  So I did!

And then I showed Chaughan the finished dress.  The conversation when a little something like this:

Me: What do you think?
Chaughan: Wow, really pretty!  But… is it lingerie?
Me:  Whaaaaat?????  Lingerie????  It’s for Alix!!!
Chaughan:  Yeah, I thought that was a bit weird.
Me: (Picking up jaw from floor)

So there you have it.  I apparently (and for the record inadvertently) made lingerie for a toddler.  *Sigh*.  So in fear of being known around daycare as the the crazy weirdo mom, Alix will only be wearing this sundress (or maybe we can call it a nightgown?) in the confines of our property.

Japanese Sewing Pattern from www.natandgang.blogspot.com
Japanese Sewing Pattern from www.natandgang.blogspot.com
Japanese Sewing Pattern from www.natandgang.blogspot.com

 

Leave a Reply

