Kids Clothes Week: Leggings, leggings, and more leggings!

www.natandgang.com

Leggings have become a staple in this house of many many girls.  I’ve never made them before, in view of the fact that they can be quite cheap to purchase.

But then Maïan showed me a pair of tribal looking leggings on Instagram.  We couldn’t find anything similar in the stores.  That’s when I decided to make leggings.  And now I just can’t stop!

www.natandgang.com

My go-to pattern is this free one from Ellie Inspired.  With my serger, I can finish a pair in less than an hour.

www.natandgang.com

I let Maïan pick out the fabric for her leggings:  this awesome tribal print is from Sanderson Textile Trading Company. It’s incredibly soft and very thin, yet I had no trouble working with it either with the serger or with my sewing machine (for the hems).

www.natandgang.com

Alix’s navy blue and white stars fabric is form loiseau Fabrics in Calgary.  I found the opening of the foot a little tight on Alix.  Maybe her feet are a little big?  Next pair, I’ll probably widen the bottom a bit so that she can slip them on more easily.

www.natandgang.com

Gaëlle’s striped fabric is also from Sanderson Textile Trading Company.  For an 18 months old, she is quite tall so I went with a size 3 for her.  That was too big as you can see from the pictures.  After the photo shoot, I went back to my sewing room and serged them a size smaller in the inseam.  They fit her much better now, while still giving her the length she needs.  Did I ever mention how much I love that serger!

www.natandgang.com
www.natandgang.com

Happy sewing!

 

9 thoughts on “Kids Clothes Week: Leggings, leggings, and more leggings!

  1. These are awesome – it’s hard to find cute prints for baby boy leggings, so I will definitely put these on my to-sew list. Thanks for listing the fabric suppliers and pattern recommendations too!

Leave a Reply

