Kids Clothes Week: Heidi and Finn Cowl Neck Dress and Reversible Leggings

natandgang.com  Heidi and Finn Cowl Neck Dress and Reversible Leggings

I’ve got one more outfit to show you that I made during Kids Clothes Week.  This one was for little Gaëlle who has been fighting one flu after another for the last couple of months.  Poor little girl… And the cold weather is just barely setting in here in Canada so we are not out of the woods yet!

natandgang.com  Heidi and Finn Cowl Neck Dress and Reversible Leggings

So I made sure to make her a super warm and comfy knit jersey outfit.

THE DRESS
I made the Cowl Neck Jumper Dress from Heidi and Finn.  I made this dress before, for Alix, and I loved how quick and simple it was to make.  Alix still wears asks to wear it today, even though it is starting to be a bit snug for her.   (Forgive the bad pic… it’s from my early blogging days, when I would shoot pics from my phone late at night and plop them on the blog with zero editing).

natandgang.com  Heidi and Finn Cowl Neck Dress and Reversible Leggings

If you have a serger, you can zoom through this dress at lightning speed.  Anyone else like to sew at lightning speed?  So rewarding!!!

natandgang.com  Heidi and Finn Cowl Neck Dress and Reversible Leggings
natandgang.com  Heidi and Finn Cowl Neck Dress and Reversible Leggings

THE LEGGINGS
I made a pair of leggings to go with the dress.  I once again used the free Ellie Inspired leggins pattern, but made them reversible by making two exact pair of leggings and attaching them together at the ankles and at the waist before sewing the individual inseams (does that make any sense?).

It makes them really warm as well as cute.

natandgang.com  Heidi and Finn Cowl Neck Dress and Reversible Leggings
natandgang.com  Heidi and Finn Cowl Neck Dress and Reversible Leggings
natandgang.com  Heidi and Finn Cowl Neck Dress and Reversible Leggings

THE FABRIC
The coral poppies jersey is from JayCyn Designs and was purchased from  Simplifi Fabric on Etsy.  They’re from Ontario, my province, so I didn’t have to fear any dreaded customs charges.  Their shop is definitely worth checking out, even if you are from out-of-province, as they have some really great fabrics:  Birch Fabrics, Cloud9, Euro knits…  I’ll be ordering from them soon again!

natandgang.com  Heidi and Finn Cowl Neck Dress and Reversible Leggings

The grey knit jersey was found at my local Fabricland in the clearance aisle.

And the little clouds?  From another great Etsy store called Seligkeitsding and located in Germany.  You might recall I had purchased fabric from them to make Alix’s Bimaa Sweater.   Fabulous quality fabric, and thick enough that it won’t get stuck in your sewing machine (or am I the only one cursed when it comes to lightweight knits???)

natandgang.com  Heidi and Finn Cowl Neck Dress and Reversible Leggings
natandgang.com  Heidi and Finn Cowl Neck Dress and Reversible Leggings
natandgang.com  Heidi and Finn Cowl Neck Dress and Reversible Leggings

Well, that wraps-up Kids Clothes Week for me! It was certainly knit jersey intensive, haha!  Can’t wait for KCW winter edition… maybe we’ll go crazy with the fleece this time?

If you missed my other installments of Kids Clothes Week, you can find them here:

Kids Clothes Week: The plan
Kids Clothes Week: Bimaa Sweaters
Kids Clothes Week: Leggings, leggings, and more leggings! 
Kids Clothes Week: Batman Costume
Kids Clothes Week: Secret Squirrel

* Linking these outfits up the KCW website… come and check out all the amazing projects done from sewists from around the world!

 

 

7 thoughts on “Kids Clothes Week: Heidi and Finn Cowl Neck Dress and Reversible Leggings

  1. Look at you! Reversible leggings? GET OUT! Also, I saw that you are on the line-up for the 12 Days of Christmas series. Congratulations! I can’t wait to see what you come up with!

    1. Hey Tasha, I might want to do a proper tutorial on reversible leggins at some point, as I think my little explanation above sucks, haha! And who can’t use reversible leggings… your little one drops a gob of peanut butter and jelly on her leggins, no problem, switch those puppies around and you’re good to go! Yeah! Indeed, I will be participating in the 12 Days of Christmas… If fell off my chair when Suz asked me! Freaking out! I’ve started on one dress but it wasn’t happy with the direction that it was taking so I am back at square one. Wish me luck! NatalieXX

  2. Very cute outfit! Love the cowl neck pattern, it’s a staple over here as well, perfect for winter…
    I stumbled across your blog via the Compagnie M pattern tour, you’ve created a wonderful space over here, I’ll definately start following!

    Nienke

Leave a Reply

