A New Home

Welcome

Wondering where I’ve been lately?  Right here my friends, packing it up with Blogger and moving over to WordPress.  This new home is just insane, with all its shiny bells and whistles (ding ding ding toot toot toot!).  I LOVE IT!!!

Before making the big switch, I had seriously contemplated doing it all myself.  After all, tutorials abound, right?  But after spending a few hours watching videos and reading posts, I decided to call in the big guns to help me make the switch!

And in my case, the big gun was this amazing Texan gal named Stacey.  She completely saved my Canadian bacon and did some amazing stuff that I could only dream of.  Like that header… pretty cool, right?  Yup, all Stacey!

I had the most amazing time working with Stacey.  She is creative (check out her own amazing blog), she is patient (she prepared a series of screen casts to walk me through my new WordPress dashboard), she’s funny (might have peed myself a couple of times reading her emails) and she’s just about the sweetest person I’ve ever met.  Ok, I admit, I am a bit smitten with Stacey.  In fact, don’t tell her but my gang and I are planning on surprising her in Texas by visiting for a couple of weeks over the holidays!!!  Woohoo!!!!  How great is that??? (Ok, totally kidding Stacey, I wouldn’t do that to you, hehehe… My three girls would completely destroy your beautiful home!)

If you’re thinking of making the switch, or even just need help tinkering with your Blogger or WordPress blog, Stacey is your gal, y’all!  (See, she’s rubbing off on me!!!)

So have a look around and tell me what you think of my new home!

20 thoughts on “A New Home

    1. Isn’t Stacey just the best!!! She was unreal… just amazing! She held my hand the whole time… actually, what am I saying, she pulled me along the entire way, haha!!! I’m so glad I discovered her via your site… best click I ever did!!! 🙂

      Natalie
      XXX

    1. Becky, thank you so much! I think indeed Stacey really understood what I was going for… clearn, modern, yet fun and quirky too! Love it! 🙂 Thanks so much for stopping by!

  1. Thanks so much Natalie! It was such a pleasure working with you and I’m kind of feeling sad that we’re finished with it all. I’m super thrilled, however, to have met you and look forward to following “your creative adventure”. It never feels like “work” when I collaborate with someone as talented as you. My sewing machine has been begging me to take that old plastic cover off and take her for a spin! You’ve been an inspiration to me. And for the record…. Y’all are always welcome down here in Texas. Thanks again for the opportunity! xo

    1. Ah Stacey… you only think it’s over… I’m sure I’ll be bugging you with questions for a while still, haha!!! And the best part is that I’m pretty sure you won’t even mind, that’s how cool you are! And yes, please dust off your sewing machine and get her working!!! With your creativity, I just can’t wait to see what you do!

      Love ya girl!

      Natalie
      XX

  2. Your new home is looking lovely Natalie 🙂 I love what I see when I pop over to your blog – a pic and a small text. So clean and so many posts are visible straight away! I am wondering if this option is available on BLogger. I also like what you said about comments in 12 days group 🙂

    1. Thank you so much Suz! I am very excited about it! And now that’s it all ready, I was able to roll out The 12 Days of Christmas announcement this morning, yeah!!!

      Natalie
      XX

    1. Hello Heidi! Thank you for checking out my new home… I have nothing but good things to say about WordPress and even though I am far from having figured out the ins and outs of this new blogging tool, I can see that it is so much more user friendly at all levels. The biggest benefit is the comment section. I have a specific plugin that allows me to answer questions right here on my blog and at the same time, it is emailed to the commenter. Which is awesome for interaction with readers, especially in a world such as ours where people will ask “how-to” questions and you want to answer the person directly, but also leave the answer on your blog so that future readers see the reply. I am also easily able to make quick modifications to my template using drop-down bars and such (no code required). If you see my pages called “Sew” and “Learn”, the galleries in there are updated automatically when I post something – all I have to do is prior to publishing, check off a little box that will tell WordPress where to put it (it’s like choosing a category).

      Of course, I am still very much a beginner when it comes to websites and I am not sure I could have transferred my blogger blog to WordPress on my own… I hired someone to do it for me and she help me choose my template (called a theme in WordPress) and rework my header. She was amazing and it was really quite inexpensive. If you are seriously thinking of taking the plunge, I would be happy to hook you up with her (you can also find her link right at the bottom of my blog.. her name is Stacey). She was so wonderful, patient, attentive and just “got me”. Let me know if you have other questions and I would so happy to answer them Heidi!

      Natalie
      XX

Leave a Reply

