What Would Celina Do?

What Would Celina Do  A Louisa Dress700

There’s something special happening on a ton of little sewing blogs today… a bunch of us from around the world are coming together to scream as loud as possible…

THANK YOU FOR THE INSPIRATION CELINA!!!!

Who is Celina?

  • she  blogs over at Petit a Petit & Family
  • she lives in Montreal, Canada (a fellow Canuck who lives just 2 hours away from me!)
  • she has two beautiful kids, a boy and a girl
  • she is a children’s wear designer and had her own label and children’s boutique
  • she recently launched STYLO, an online magazine showcasing the best in children’s sewing fashion from around the world

How does Celina inspire me?

  • her eclectic mix of style, from modern to vintage
  • her keen eye for pairing fabrics
  • her generous use of colour to accent a neutral pallet
  • her use of unexpected details and touches

Here are a few of my favourite Celina creations:

What Would Celina Do  Collage

1. Little Bit Japanese Dress

2. Adding a Peter Pan Collar

3. Duffle Coat

4. Roly Poly Four Seasons Pinafore

What would Celina do?

As an ode to Celina and to thank her for her amazing inspiration, 25 sewing bloggers from around the world have come together to create and post about an item entirely inspired by our friend Celina.  I haven’t known Celina for very long but I can tell you that she is a very special and unique person. She is a strong creative influence, a fashion guru and a forward thinker.  More importantly though, she is insanely sweet, kind and generous….  No matter how small you are in blog land, she will ALWAYS have time for you (I speak from experience there!).  Of course, her modesty would prevent her from ever telling you any of this herself!

So inspired by my friend Celina, I came up with this little number…

What Would Celina Do  A Louisa Dress1

VINTAGE

The pattern is the Louisa Dress from Compagnie M. which I think Celina would find has just the right amount of vintage.

What Would Celina Do  A Louisa Dress4

PLAID

Celina rocks at using plaid in her creations.  I thought this little plaid addition modernized the garment and gave it just the right injection of colour.

What Would Celina Do  A Louisa Dress2

What Would Celina Do  A Louisa Dress5

INSERTED PETER PAN COLLAR

I stumbled on this amazing tutorial for an inserted Peter pan collar during Kids Clothes Week last fall… this was the first time I had heard about Celina and Petit a Petit & Family by the way.  And I had never seen an inserted Peter Pan collar! I knew I had to try it…  and I finally did!  I love how sleek it looks!

What Would Celina Do  A Louisa Dress3

What Would Celina Do  A Louisa Dress8

PARIS

This beautiful Paris inspired fabric called “L’amour de la vie” lines the entire dress.  It is a nod to Celina’s second home, Paris and creates the French connection between Paris and Montreal.

 il_570xN_312539040

PHOTOGRAPHY STYLE

On her blog, Celina opts to anonymise her children’s faces a bit… shots are never head on, but rather from the side, the back, the top.  The focus becomes more the clothes and the details of the garment.  I tried to replicate that style here (well, except for that final picture at the end of the post… I just couldn’t help myself, Gaëlle looked so cute, haha!)

What Would Celina Do  A Louisa Dress7

Celina, merci pour l’inspiration que tu partages avec nous quotidiennement!  J’ai tellement hâte de te rencontrer en personne!!!

Tout mon amour! XXX

And Laura from Craftstorming, thank you so much for being the brilliant person that you are and coming up with this amazing concept to celebrate our Celina.  Laura, you brought all of us from around the world together for no other reason than to show love and appreciation to a friend.  Wow, you are amazing Laura!!!

Click on any of the images below to see what the 24 other sewists have created in honour of Celina!

What Would Celina Do  A Louisa Dress6

Image Map
37 thoughts on “What Would Celina Do?

  1. Gosh, how beautiful is your daughter!! WOW. And beautiful post overall and of course the dress is amazing!! Go Natalie!!

    1. Mie, how sweet are you! Thank you thank you so much for your kind words… I’ll agree with you that Gaelle is pretty cute though, hahaha!

      Natalie
      XX

  2. Your dress is perfection, your daughter gorgeous and you… amazingly sweet. I cannot wait to meet you in person and chat over coffee and go fabric shopping! How can I ever thank you for writing such a lovely post, seriously I am speechless and teary eyed. I am so happy I have gotten a chance to cross path with you. I feel very honored and extremely touched- I have the best friends who inspire me everyday to make me who I am, I am the luckiest girl in the world. Thank you from the bottom of my heart. xxx

    1. Celina, I am so excited to have been part of this today… I wouldn’t have passed this up for the world! I am so happy for your as well… you totally deserve this. I hope you can feel our love and affection from around the world!!!

      Let’s make plans to meet up soon! I’m dying for a little car ride to Mtl!

      Natalie
      XX

    1. Abby, thank you so much! I am new to piping, actually… I’ve only used it on three garments so far… kind of addicting actually!

      Natalie
      XX

    1. Hi Toni-Maree,
      Oh, I am so glad you think so… yes, mixing plaid and stripes can be tricky for you… thankfully the stripes in this dress were fairly subdued so it wasn’t too hard, hahaha!

      Natalie
      XX

  3. What an amazing dress! I love all the little nods to Celina – the plaid piping especially is such a gorgeous detail. Thank you so much for your kind words about me too – it was absolutely my pleasure to organise this and I’m so happy you were able to take part.

    1. Laura, again a huge thanks for putting this together. You are amazing to have thought of this up as a thank you to Celina… you are such a special person my friend!

      Natalie
      XX

    1. Oh thank you so much! Indeed, that Ceina is a pretty special person and worth celebrating. And bonus that she is Canadian too! Hahaha!

      Natalie
      XX

    1. Hehehe Trine, I happen to know that you are a big fan of the Louisa dress yourself! Congrats on your win by the way… the leather shoulder patches are killer!!!

      Natalie
      XX

    1. Hahaha, thank you An! Those eyes do suck you in, don’t they! They work really well at wrapping mom and dad around her little finger too! 🙂 By the way, I thought you should know that I got mad traffic coming from your blog last week because of this series. So thank you for that!!!!

      Natalie
      XX

    1. Thank you so much Elisa! It always takes me so long to pick out the fabric… toughest part of the sewing project for me, although probably my favourite part!!!

      Natalie
      XX

    1. Alexia, thank you so much for your sweet words… by the way, I am a huge fan of your sewing and your photography so I’m so happy that you stopped by to check out my little slice of the web!:-)

      Natalie
      XX

    1. Hayley!! Looks like all of our kids inherited good genes, hehehe!!! And thanks for your sweet compliment about the dress! 🙂

      Natalie
      XX

Leave a Reply

