Perfect Pattern Parcel – Hanami Dress by StraightGrain

PPP Hanami 1

I’m sure by now you’ve heard about the Perfect Pattern Parcel… (no????  Head over HERE).  And it’s finally my turn to be one of the stops on the PPP tour.  I was asked to sew up one of six amazing patterns.  Here are the patterns that are part of the parcel:

Hanami Top or Dress by Straight Grain
Hosh Pants by LoubeeClothing
Celestial Tee by Figgy’s
September Tunic & Dress by Too Sweets Patterns
Caroline Party Dress by Mouse House Creations

BONUS pattern:
Prefontaine Shorts by Made With Moxie

Let me tell you it was really hard to pick just one… so I didn’t!  I’ll show you one today, and then I’ll pop back on Thursday to show you a Caroline dress that I made for little Gaëlle.

And you can bet that I will be sewing up all six of them soon enough… in fact, I’ve already purchased my fabric for those sweet little Hosh Pants.

But today, let me show you the Hanami dress that I made for Alix.  I had been dying to make this dress for a while now… such a fun pattern, with the usual impeccable instructions that you expect from An of Straight Grain.  I love the fact that she adds additional sewing tips and tricks with her patterns.  I won’t lie… I looooooove learning new sewing techniques!!! 

PPP Hanami 6

 

PPP Hanami 7

I chose to make the dress version, with cross back and flutter sleeves.  Now the pattern indicates that the Peter Pan collar is not doable with the cross back version… but… where there’s a will, there’s a way! What incredible magic trick did I perform? I simply added the collar by sewing the back portion of it into the shoulder seams, hehehe!  Sneaky, no?  What can I say, I love this collar!

PPP Hanami 8

 

PPP Hanami 9

 

PPP Hanami 2

 

PPP Hanami 3

 

PPP Hanami 4

There are only a few more days left to purchase PERFECT PATTERN PARCEL #2.

 It’s all about indie pattern designers, bloggers and sewists, coming together to support each other as well as our communities!   Great patterns, great cause, great inspiration… what more can you ask for?!

Perfect Pattern Parcel #2

And don’t forget to check out the rest of the blog tour. There have been some pretty amazing garments sewn by some pretty talented ladies!

P comme Plimplim
CailaMade
While she was sleeping
YoSaMi
stitched together
Sew Like My Mom
Marina Bebe
lexi.made
sewVery
Call Ajaire
I Married Superman
Girl like the sea
Stitched
Compagnie M.
Buzzmills
floating world
fake it while you make it
Sewing Mama RaeAnna
Our Chez Nous
NeurosesGalore
Behind the Hedgerow
Needle and Ted
Kadiddlehopper
2 little hooligans
Max-California.com
Siestas & Sewing
So Cal Sewing Mom
lauren dahl
La gang à Nat
Frances Suzanne
Radiant Home Studio
Modern Handmade
A Jennuine Life
It’s Always Autumn
lea & lars
I Seam Stressed
So, Zo… What do you know?
Andrea’s Notebook
Steph Skardal
Nutta!
Sewpony
Made With Moxie
imagine gnats
Inder Loves Folk Art
Pienkel

PPP Hanami collage

17 thoughts on “Perfect Pattern Parcel – Hanami Dress by StraightGrain

    1. Haha thank you Renee! You noticed that she was in a better mood, didn’t you? Indeed, she actually danced for me wearing this dress. There was no getting her to stay still, mind you, but she had a huge smile on her face and that can’t be beat! 🙂

      Natalie
      XX

    1. Jill, thank you so much! And thank you for allowing me to be part of this special project of yours… It’s such a beautiful concept! 🙂

      Natalie
      XX

  1. Such a pretty dress! That cross back and ruffled sleeve stole the show. You also pick the most beautiful fabrics. They’re pretty and sophisticated while still be perfect for a young girl. So lovely,Nat!

  2. Love your version of the Hanami Dress. And I love that you’re not afraid to use black. That’s all it takes for me, I’ve just become your new follower.

    1. OH, thank you so much! What a sweet sweet thing of you to say… and I am so happy to have you as a new follower that I am kind of afraid to tell you that the darker fabric is actually not black… it’s a navy blue, hahaha! I promise I’ll make something with black for you in the near future, deal? 😉

      Natalie
      XX

  3. I love the florals mixed with the solid navy! Sometime we over-do it with the prints and patterns we love, but this is just the right mix.

    1. I know exactly what you mean Sara. It’s a fine line between over whelming and under whelming when it comes to our use of fabric. I’m so happy to hear you think I got it right with this dress!

      Natalie
      XX

Leave a Reply

