The Ash Jumpsuit by Willow & Co.

Ash Jumpsuit La gang a Nat 3

You guys, I had the immense pleasure of testing a pattern lately… and it wasn’t just any pattern… it was a pattern designed by someone that I admire quite a bit… you’ve heard me gush about Celina from Petit à Petit & Family before, haven’t you?  Well, this pattern was designed by Ms. Bailey herself. Yes, I am talking about the Ash Jumpsuit by the pattern collective Willow & Co. which releases it’s first collection, Wanderlust, on Tuesday, April 22nd.

Ash Jumpsuit La gang a Nat 5

Celina can be very proud of this pattern.  Not only is it very different from anything else out there, it also comes with impeccable instructions and amazing digital illustrations for all steps.  And the fact that it goes all the way to size 12 makes it a big winner in my book!

Ash Jumpsuit La gang a Nat 4

The jumpsuit you see here is a size 11, one piece version with pockets.

Ash Jumpsuit La gang a Nat 2

And what is that amazing tuxedo stripe you see on the seam of the pants?  That my friend is actually born out of a silly little mistake on my part.  If you’re Canadian, you will totally understand my frustration with the imperial and metric systems.  Oh, it’s not that I don’t know how to use them.  Au contraire!  Canadians seem to go back and forth seamlessly between the two systems.  However, when following a sewing pattern, it pays to be consistent and stick with one and only one.   Well, this sewist ended up chopping off an inch instead of a centimetre off the side of the pants.  Oops!  Even though the pattern offers sufficient ease to absorb my silly little mistake, I decided to try something different and add a 2cm silky stripe at the side (well a full 4cm if you add the seam allowance needed).  And voilà! A sweet little tuxedo stripe!  Not bad for a mistake, no?

Ash Jumpsuit La gang a Nat 1

I have to admit that photoshoots with Maïan are so much more enjoyable that with the little ones, hahaha!  I could have photographed her all day!  Very proud of my little tween, especially lately as just last week, we found out that she was accepted in a highly competitive academic and leadership program for next year in grade 7.  Just watch out for this girl… she is going far in life!  Je t’aime ma belle Maïan!

37 thoughts on “The Ash Jumpsuit by Willow & Co.

  1. Gorgeous! I thought the tuxedo stripe was completely intentional until you said otherwise 🙂 THAT was definitely a happy mistake, love it!

    1. Haha, I’m too honest, aren’t I? I totally should have said that it was intentional, haha! Yes, totally a happy mistake!

      Natalie
      XX

    1. Hi Renee,
      Isn’t crazy that it looks so good one little ones and tweens too? You rarely see that in a pattern I think! Celina rocked it for sure! And thanks so much for your sweet comments Renee… I will pass on your congrats to Maïan!!!

      Natalie
      XX

    1. Thanks so much Christina! It was such a fun pattern to sew! Now I’ll have to make some for the little girls too! 🙂

      Natalie
      XX

  2. Gorgeous! That lounging in the chair shot shows just how great the pattern is! If a tween is comfy enough to hang in a chair like that,,,the design is a winner!

    1. Mary, I totally agree! This is an awesome pattern and I can’t wait to make other versions of it as well!

      Natalie
      XX

    1. Ah Lucy, thank you so much! I am working hard on my photography lately so it makes me so happy to hear a comment like yours!

      Natalie
      XX

  3. Ahhh, tweens. I’m on my way to having one, and they are a dificult crowd to please. Celina rock it with this pattern, all the older girls seem extremely happy with their jumpsuits. Love that mistake, she looks adorable and very grown up 🙂

    1. Thanks Carla! Indeed, they are a though crowd to please… she doesn’t allow me to sew for her too often, so when she says YES, I jump on the chance! And I agree, Celina nailed it with this suit that looks just as amazing on a 1 year old as it does on an 11 year old!!! You don’t see that too often!

      Natalie
      XX

  4. I love your version! So simple and yet so gorgeous! And that tuxedo stripe… c’est la la cerise sur le gâteau!
    I know I already said this in the FB testing group, but that jump caption is perfection!

    1. Ah Sara, you are too sweet! I kind of lucked out with that jump shot, haha! Luckily, Maïan was very willing to jump over and over again for me!

      Natalie
      XX

  5. Haha, you saved your little faux pas GREAT. Love tuxedo stripes 🙂 And LOVE the photos. Your daughter is beautiful and the black and white jumpsuit up against the turquoise background is just perfect. Great job Natalie!!

    1. Ah Mie, thank you so much for your sweet comments about the jumpsuit, my wall and my daughter! You made my day!!!

      Natalie
      XX

    1. Hi Monica,
      There are some great patterns for tweens out there! The challenge lies more in having them allow you to sew for them. And in them actually wearing what you have sewn for them. Haha! Ah well…

      Natalie
      XX

  6. you know I love this but I will say it again. I love this. And I also love a good mistake- they always push me to think outside the box and come up with a solution. Your daughter is gorgeous, those photos are beyond great and how exciting she got accepted to that amazing program. Felicitation!!! Je vous aime a toutes les deux 😉 I can that right!

    1. Celina, it always starts with a fantastic pattern! Congrats to you in creating such an amazing pattern. Your smart instructions blew my mind. I can’t see what else you come up with ! Bravo ma chère amie!!!

      Natalie
      XX

  7. This jumpsuit is so hip! I’d be jumping with excitement too if someone sewed this for me. It fits her perfectly! Jackson Pollock once said that he denies the accidents in his art. Girl, that was no accident that was genius at work. The tuxedo stipe takes the whole thing up a notch. It’s fantastic!

    Great photos and congrats to Maïan. I know you’re really proud, Nat!

    1. Stacey, damn, you are so smart! I love that quote from Pollock!!! I’ll definitely keep it in mind next time I screw up, uh, I mean next time I’m a genious! Hehehehe… Hope you are doing well my friend! And yes, I am quite proud of my sweet tween!

      Natalie
      XX

Leave a Reply

