Perfect Pattern Parcel – The Caroline Party Dress

PPP Caroline 5

I’m back with a second creation for Perfect Pattern Parcel… this time, a Caroline Party Dress!  I’ve made this dress before for Alix here, and I thought it was time that Gaëlle had one too.  Plus I wanted to test the pattern a bit and experiment with colours and fabric.

PPP Caroline 2

I opted for a whimsical look this time around.  It seemed to please Gaëlle quite a bit!

PPP Caroline 4

PPP Caroline 3

I added a little touch to the underskirt… a handmade bias binding.  I realize I still have a long way to go in perfecting the art of sewing bias bindings… oh well, the look (even imperfect) is still sweet!

PPP Caroline 8

PPP Caroline 6

Aside from bias bindings, another area I need to work on is perfecting the finishing at the top of my zips.  I just can’t seem to get it as neat as I’d like.  The one you see below looks worse than it really as, as it wasn’t zipped up all the way.  Still, you can see the tape poking from the top of the fabric.  I’ll work on it!

PPP Caroline 1

If the colours look off in the image below, it’s because it went through massive editing.  Gaëlle would not stand still for our photoshoot except for the few seconds when she decided to crawl under the dining table.  So I followed her there.  Unfortunately, in my haste, I forgot ot change my settings to reflect the lack of natural light.  So I had to pump up the brightness and hightlights while editing or else you wouldn’t have seen much.  Apologies for the graininess but since it was the only image I had of Gaëlle smiling, I really wanted it here!

PPP Caroline 7

Look at me… pointing all my mistakes (binding, zip, photo)…  silly me!  I actually really love how this dress turned out, imperfections and all.  It’s sweet and looks fabulous of little Gaëlle!

You have until Friday, April 18, at midnight EST to purchase PPP#2.  Here are the patterns that are part of the parcel:

Hanami Top or Dress by Straight Grain
Hosh Pants by LoubeeClothing
Celestial Tee by Figgy’s
September Tunic & Dress by Too Sweets Patterns
Caroline Party Dress by Mouse House Creations

BONUS pattern:
Prefontaine Shorts by Made With Moxie

Perfect Pattern Parcel #2

PPP Caroline collage

 

10 thoughts on “Perfect Pattern Parcel – The Caroline Party Dress

    1. OMG Sarah, you’re so funnu!!! That would be a bit weird, hahaha!!! Can you picture yourself arriving at your cross fit box wearing this dress??? 😉 Tihihi!!!!

      Natalie
      XX

  1. you are way too hard on yourself!! your bias binding is great and I love the contrast! and your photos are gorgeous too! it is nice to have a lively photoshoot to look at! this dress is lovely!

  2. Natalie , can’t believe how busy you’ve been! This is another cutie . And yes , don’t be so hard on yourself – I was honestly looking at that photo of the skirt and underskirt , thinking , ‘woah ; neat hemming’… It looks beautifully done to me!

Leave a Reply

