Stitched Together for Rachel – A Little Cloud

Cloud Mobile 3

I’m breaking my summer blogging fast to show you a little something special that I made… oh, it’s not much at all… but the thought behind it is huge!!!

Amazing sweet Victoria of As It Seams asked me to be part of a little secret and I just couldn’t say no.  I’ve been questioning my blogging goals lately… What used to be fun and exciting had turned into a stressful little endeavour in the last few months.  I knew I needed a break and some time to re-evalute things…

I’m still not exactly sure where La gang à Nat will lead me, but I do know that it must be a vehicle by which I connect with creative and altruistic friends from around the world.  And Victoria’s idea was exactly that:  she proposed creating a heartfelt gift for someone very special.

Cloud Mobile 1

That someone special is Rachel from Stitched Together.  Rachel will be welcoming a new little baby any day now.  I have been an avid reader of Rachel’s blog for nearly a year and treasure her beautiful sewing and detailed posts.  I have to admit, I’m not sure that Rachel knows who I am… but isn’t that the beauty of blogs?  We don’t always know the people that we touch, but our images, our words, our thoughts and our sewing have the potential to create such strong connections!  And besides, maybe it’s time I finally introduced myself to Rachel….  Hi Rachel!!!!  🙂

To welcome this sweet little babe, this happy little cloud will be joining 7 other decorations in order to form a one of a kind baby mobile.

You can read more background on Victoria’s idea HERE.

Cloud Mobile 4

Contrary to popular belief, clouds are actually hard to make!!  All those curves and tight squeezes are no easy task for a pressed and at times impetuous sewist like me! This quirky little guy was actually attempt number 2…  My friend Hayley, whose sewing skills I greatly respect pointed out that you can go from a puffy billowy cloud to an ugly pile of poop in no time!  Hopefully I am closer to puff than poop Hayley???

Cloud Mobile 2

The front of the little cloud is mysterious linen from my stash (I seem to have a lot of those!).  The back is made from my precious Mountain and Valley, Origami Oasis by Tamara Kate of Michael Miller Fabrics, being released this month.  On my recent trip to NYC with fellow sewing bloggers, I met with the fabulous Kait Witte of Michael Miller Fabrics and was given a yard of this gorgeous fabric.  I hope the beautiful colours will appeal to Rachel’s little one!
Cloud Mobile 5

Hop over to these seven other blogs to see all the other precious little ornaments that will join Little Cloud!

Victoria at As It Seams

An at Straightgrain

Suz at Sewpony

Heidi at Elegance and Elephants

Gail at Probably Actually

Kristen at Skirt as Top

Sanae at Sanae Ishida

 

 

 

15 thoughts on “Stitched Together for Rachel – A Little Cloud

    1. Haha, you rock Jenya!!! (And thank you so much for reading the text too, and not just scan the images… makes all that time writing and editing worth it!!!)

      Natalie
      XX

  1. Thank you so much! I absolutely love it! I am so touched you would make something so special for my new baby and me. It really means so much to me. I am so, so surprised and moved… and surprised again! 🙂 I was waiting to see my midwife this morning when I saw these posts on my Feedly account and I literally got teary in the waiting room. ( I hope I get a pass on random public crying at almost 40 weeks pregnant!) 🙂 But really, this is so special and I really can’t even believe that you would take the time to make something so unique and perfect for our new little one. I really don’t know what to say because thank you seems insufficient but – thank you!

    Oh and on a lighter note, the cloud is definitely puffy! 😉 I adore it!

    1. Hi Rachel,
      When you’re 40 weeks pregnant, you definitely get a pass at public crying, haha!!! This little surprise was so much fun… leave it to Victoria to come up with such a great idea!!! I’ll be popping the little “puffy” cloud in the mail real soon in order to join up with the other little creations that are making their way to you from around the world. I hope your little one likes them! Speaking of which, I’m sure everyone is asking you but… any signs of an impending arrival? Gaëlle, my third, made me wait 14 days past my due date (She was due on St.Patrick’s Day and decided to arrival on April Fool’s day instead). It took a small dose of castor oil in order to convince her to come out (that stuff is nasty by the way… but it worked!!!. Hopefully you won’t have to wait as long…

      Lots of love Rachel!
      Natalie
      XXXX

  2. The sweetest cloud in the world, Natalie! Definitely worth breaking your summer fast, and I hope you continue to blog because your creations are so wonderful 🙂

    1. Sanae, your words touched me greatly. Your comment about my cloud made me giddy with happiness and your encouragement to keep blogging was just what I needed. I respect you and your work so much so to hear you say that my creations are wonderful is precious! Thank you!!!

      Natalie
      XX

  3. i’m a sucker for clouds and this one is so cute! love that backing fabric too, i have some as well and i’m trying to decide what to make! 🙂

    1. Isn’t that fabric fantastic? Thankfully, I still have lots left for something else… I’ve been thinking a bodice perhaps, paired with a navy blue skirt? I loved what you made for Rachel… that little dress was to die for! 🙂

      Natalie
      XX

Leave a Reply

