The “Getting Boo to Stay” Chronicles

I have a Boo.  Her name is Belinda.  I generally call her B. That’s her in the pictures below -except for that strange person in the background of picture #2, pretending to be in labour… that’s me.

B is one of the most beautiful women I know… she’s smart, unpretentious, bold, at times often in your face, freaking hilarious, curious, in the moment and real.  When I’m around her, I feel like I am REALLY living life.

Problem is, she wants to leave me. Well, not really me but this city.  Ottawa. Sorry, I can be dramatic.

See, she grew up in Montreal, which is a really awesome city, or so I’ve been told.  I don’t know Montreal that well.  She claims that it’s vibrant, sophisticated, and sensual.  I’m sure she’s right.  She normally is.

B has been in Ottawa for something like forever now.  She finds it dull, grey and way too suburban.  She might have a point.  She’s pretty smart my Boo!

Since I’ve known her, she’s always talked about heading back to Montreal.  I was pretty sure it was just blah-blah-blah talk… until now.

B has set a date:  July 2014.  That’s when she’ll be leaving me. Sorry, being all dramatic again.

So my mission:  convince Boo that Ottawa is cool, hip, funky and urban, as well as a great place to raise her little brood.   I have a year to show her all the amazing things Ottawa has to offer and hopefully get her to stay put!  I really don’t want to lose her… perhaps if I pepper her with posts about how great Ottawa is, she’ll change her mind.

So stay tuned for the first installment of the Getting Boo to Stay Chronicles… The Ottawa Food Truck Revolution!

Love ya Boo!

3 thoughts on “The “Getting Boo to Stay” Chronicles

  1. Or you could move to Montreal? :)Sorry…I know I’m not helping. I’m sorry your friend is moving. My closest friend and I moved 1200 miles away from one another though and we’re still as close as we ever were…if it helps any.I’m visiting today from the shout out at Nanny to Mommy.

  2. Boo,You’re a ridiculously good quilter and a great friend. You’ll never convince me of Ottawa’s merits, other than the fresh air along the River Parkway bike path, but I’ll never forget this one.My place in Montreal will have a spectacular guestroom nicknamed “the Nat.” Won’t you please make the curtains?xoxoxoB.

  3. Hi Natalie! Very excited to have found your gorgeous blog! I’m newly following and can’t wait to see your posts. Now going to go read your kitchen reveal. Looks b.e.a.u.t.i.f.u.l from the thumbnail!Leanne xhttp://www.oh-mydaze.blogspot.com

Leave a comment